This is the "Current Happenings" page of the "Hofheimer Happenings" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hofheimer Happenings  

Recent information about library resources and services!
Last Updated: Jul 3, 2014 URL: http://vwc.v1.libguides.com/news Print Guide RSS Updates

Current Happenings Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Databases

New to Virginia Wesleyan College

Illustrated London News  Historical Archive, 1842-2003  The Illustrated London News Historical Archive provides access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.

JSTOR Life Sciences Collection  - An upgrade to our existing Botany & Ecology collection.

L’Annee Philologique - Primary database for Classics, useful for Philosophy and other humanities disciplines. A specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.

Library & Information Science Source Covers librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval and information management. Supports the work of the library faculty, but may also be of interest to those in education, sociology and related fields

Political Science Complete Indexing to scholarly articles in journals, newspapers and books related to Political Science. Links to full text for many articles.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive  An archive of books, pamphlets, court records, and manuscript materials consisting of debates on slavery and abolition. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part III: Institution of Slavery; Part IV: Age of Emancipation

Times (London) Archive (1785-2009)  The world's "newspaper of record." Includes entire newspaper, all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos. Fully searchable. Does NOT include the Sunday Times. Coverage: 1785-1985.

 

 

2014 Winners

CONGRATULATIONS to the winners of the 2014 Library Research Award!

Tempe Martens and Emily Midkiff each received a cash prize of $125.00 thanks to a generous gift from the Driscoll Family.

Left to right: Stephen Leist (Research & Instruction Librarian), Tempe Martens, Emily Midkiff, the Rev. Jim and Katheryn Driscoll.

A New Guide to New Books

Hofheimer Library has a new guide to New Books at Hofheimer Library, created by graduate student intern Candice Cheshire.  The guide will updated periodically.  New books are added to the library collection all year long.  In addition, stop by the "New Books" display in the seating alcove near the Circulation Desk to browse new titles.  All new books are available for checkout.

 

Search the VWC Library Catalog

Hofheimer Library has a new version of the library catalog.  Try it out in the box below.  Miss the "Classic PAC"?  Classic PAC is still available through a link inside the new catalog interface.  Questions about the new catalog?  Just Ask Us!

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip