This is the "A-Z List" page of the "Library Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Databases  

This guide contains an alphabetical list of resources. Use the links below to find articles and reports in journals, newspapers, and other sources. Use requires a VWC username and password.
Last Updated: Jul 3, 2014 URL: http://vwc.v1.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

A-Z List Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases A - Z

Use the links below to find articles and reports in journals, newspapers, and other sources. Requires a VWC username and password.

  • ABI/INFORM
    Business articles from scholarly journals and magazines; also company profiles & SWOT analyses. Full text for many articles.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Broad database with articles on many topics from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles.
  • ACS Publications
    American Chemical Society journals. Some titles have fulltext access.
  • Alt HealthWatch
    Scholarly and professional articles and reports on complementary and alternative approaches to health care and wellness. Full text for many articles.
  • America: History and Life
    Indexing to scholarly articles in journals from 1964 to present on the history of the United States and Canada. Links to full text for many articles. (For World History, see the database Historical Abstracts.)
  • Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
    Database spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. For individuals in the caring professions.
  • Artemis: Literary Sources (formerly called LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER)
    Includes literary and cultural analysis, primary sources, critical articles and biographies.
    Previously included in Literature Resource Center.
  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials  
      
    Scholarly articles on all fields of religion and theology. Full text to some articles.
  • BioOne
    Scholarly articles from biological, ecological and environmental science journals. Full-text for many articles.
  • Business Full Text
    Articles from business magazines and scholarly journals. Full-text for many articles.
  • Business Source Complete
    Articles from business magazines and scholarly journals, company profiles, & SWOT analyses. Full-text for many articles.
  • Chem Essentials - Knovel
    Reference information for chemistry research.
  • Choice Reviews  
      
    Source for reviews of academic books, electronic media and Internet resources.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    Communications and mass media articles from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles.
  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
    Scholarly and professional articles and reports on computing and applied sciences. Full text for many articles.
  • COS Conference Papers Index - life sciences, environmental sciences, aquatic sciences  
      
    Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.
  • CQ Researcher
    Research reports on current events and issues including the historical background, chronology and opposing viewpoints. Full text coverage with bibliographies.
  • Dissertations and Theses: Full Text
    Searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present. Full text pdf available for many dissertations.
  • Ebooks on Ebschost
    Access to more than 50,000 digitized books. Search by title, author, keyword, Library of Congress subject heading. Full-text searching is also available.
  • Ecology & Botany Collection **Recently upgraded to Life Sciences Collection
    Scholarly articles from plant and ecology journals. All full text coverage. JSTOR
  • EconLit - Economics Literature  
      
    Citations for scholarly articles on economic theory and application. (Does not contain full text.)
  • Economía y Negocios
    Provides business and economics coverage for hundreds of Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere.
  • Education Full Text
    Education Full Text Scholarly articles on teaching, education and educational tests. Full text for many articles.
  • Education Research Complete
    Education Research Complete – Scholarly articles on all areas of education from journals, magazines and books. Full text for many articles
  • Encyclopædia Britannica Online
    Online encyclopedia with graphs, photos and movies. Includes dictionary, thesaurus, atlas, timeline and year in review. Fulltext.
  • Environment Complete
    Environment articles from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles.
  • Eric
    Citations for reports, books, articles and conference papers on education. Limited full-text access.
  • Essay and General Literature Index
    Citations for essays and chapters in books.
  • European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
    A comprehensive bibliography/guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750
  • Factiva
    Business, company & industry news and reports. Full text.
  • FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus
    Contains over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 periodicals. In-depth coverage of academic and popular film journals. Uses a controlled thesaurus with more than 20,000 subject terms. The index contains comprehensive television periodical indexing until 2000 and TV related articles from film periodicals continue to be indexed.
  • Fuente Académica
    Articles from scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain. (both Spanish and English language)
  • General Science Full Text
    Science articles from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    Scholarly literature across many disciplines.
  • GreenFILE
    Environment articles from scholarly journals and magazines; focus on effects of society on environment. Full text for many articles.
  • HarpWeek: The Civil War and Reconstruction (1857-1877)
    Full-image reproduction of Harper's Weekly, with an index to the magazine. Includes illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and advertisements.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition
    Consumer health information from magazines.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    Medical, nursing and allied health articles from scholarly journals. Full text .
  • Historical Abstracts
    Scholarly articles on World History (outside of the US and Canada). For US history, see the database America History and Life. Fulltext to many articles.
  • Hospitality & Tourism Complete
    Hospitality and tourism articles from scholarly journals and magazines, both domestic and international in scope. Full text for many articles.
  • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
    Citations and abstracts for Humanities articles from Humanities and Social Sciences journals, 1907-1984.
  • Humanities Full Text
    Humanities articles from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles.
  • Humanities International Complete
    Humanities articles from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles.
  • Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
    The Illustrated London News Historical Archive provides access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
  • JSTOR
    Fulltext, scholarly articles in many disciplines. Does not include fulltext for the most recent 3-5 years of articles.
  • L'Année philologique
    A specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
  • Legal Collection
    Fulltext for 250 scholarly law journals.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Business, legal and global news. Includes tv transcripts, legal reviews, SEC filings, company profiles, legal reviews, statutes, regulations and case law. Full text.
  • Library & Information Science Source
    Covers librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval and information management.
  • Literature Online (LION)
    Searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 382 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
  • Literature Resource Center (now called Artemis)  
      
    Resources for critical scholarly resources in literature and the humanities, including critical analyses, biographies, and bibliographies. Full text for many articles.
  • MasterFILE Premier
    Articles from general reference magazines and publications. Full text.
  • MathSciNet  
      
    Citations and abstracts to scholarly mathematics journals.
  • MEDLINE
    Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature.
  • Mergent Horizon
    Comprehensive coverage for all companies actively traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ, with enhanced product-level detail for 3,700 companies.
  • Mergent Online
    Detailed publicly-traded company financial statements for up to the last 30 years.
  • Milestone Documents in American History
    130 full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.
  • Milestone Documents of American Leaders
    Primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.
  • Military & Government Collection
    Military and government articles from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles.
  • MLA International Bibliography  
      
    Citations to scholarly literary criticisms, books and articles on language and literature.
  • National Criminal Juctice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts
    Database covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.
  • Newspaper Source Plus
    Articles from newspapers; also includes television and radio news transcripts. Full text.
  • Oceanic Abstracts  
      
    Citations and abstracts to scholarly articles from journals and magazines on oceans and marine biology. Does not contain fulltext.
  • OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary)
    Provides definitions that include the full history of the usage of a word, pronunciation and more
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Online reference books including bilingual dictionaries and subject dictionaries.
  • PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)  
      
    Scholarly articles, books, government documents, and reports on the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. Limited fulltext.
  • Philosopher’s Index  
      
    Citations and abstracts for books and scholarly journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
  • PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress  
      
    Citations and abstracts for scholarly literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health conditions associated with traumatic events. Limited fulltext.
  • Political Science Complete
    Indexing to scholarly articles in journals, newspapers and books related to Political Science. Links to full text for many articles.
  • Powerspeak Languages
    Provides users with the ability to learn, apply and enjoy a new language quickly and more proficiently.
  • Project Muse - Basic Research Collection  
      
    Articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Limited full text.
  • PsycARTICLES
    Psychology articles from scholarly journals. Fulltext.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    Psychology and behavioral sciences articles from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text for many articles.
  • PsycINFO  
      
    Psychology citations, abstracts and articles from scholarly journals. Some fulltext.
  • PubMed
    Citations for articles in biomedical literature from MEDLINE; may include links to full-text content.
  • Readers' Guide Full Text
    Articles from magazines on general interest topics. Fulltext
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
    Articles from magazines on general interest topics, publication dates 1890-1982. Fulltext
  • Regional Business News
    Business news from regional publications, tv and radio news, trade publications and newswires. Fulltext
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
    Theology and philosophy articles from scholarly journals and magazines. Full text.
  • SciFinder - new users  
      
    Citations and abstract for scholarly, chemical and scientific literature. You MUST REGISTER FROM A COMPUTER ON CAMPUS to use this database. Although this database is not all fulltext, you can still obtain the articles through the Check for Full-textlink or Interlibrary Loan.
  • SciFinder - users with accounts
    Citations and abstract for scholarly, chemical and scientific literature. You MUST REGISTER FROM A COMPUTER ON CAMPUS to use this database. Although this database is not all fulltext, you can still obtain the articles through the Check for Full-textlink or Interlibrary Loan.
  • Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
    An archive of books, pamphlets, court records, and manuscript materials consisting of debates on slavery and abolition. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part III: Institution of Slavery; Part IV: Age of Emancipation
  • Social Science Full Text
    Scholarly articles from social sciences journals. Fulltext.
  • Social Services Abstracts  
      
    Citations and abstracts on social work, human services, and related areas. Does not contain fulltext.
  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
    Citations and abstracts on sociology and related disciplines. Does not contain fulltext.
  • Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
    Statistical Abstract of the US is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
  • Teacher Reference Center  
      
    Citations and abstracts for scholarly teaching and school administration journals. Does not contain fulltext.
  • The Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2008
    The world's "newspaper of record." Includes entire newspaper, all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos. Fully searchable. Does NOT include the Sunday Times. Coverage: 1785-1985.
  • Vente et Gestion
    Full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher.
  • Vital Statistics of American Politics Online Edition
    Basic statistical information on American government and politics. Fulltext. Data on elections, the media, the military, social and economic policy and more. On Campus Access Only.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Citations and abstract for scholarly, scientific literature. Some links to fulltext.
  • Wiley Online  
      
    Citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and magazines on many topics. Full text for many articles.
  • WorldCat  
      
    Citations and information for the collections, resources and services of libraries worldwide.
  • Zoological Record  
      
    Citations and abstracts from animal biology journals and sources. Does not contain fulltext.
 

Journal Finder


 

Database Help

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip